#T5W: Second Book Is Best (Rarely?)

top5

Welcome to another Top 5 Wednesday. This week we’re talking about series where the second book is the best installment. And… I’m gonna have to shake things up a little, because this statement just isn’t true of me. Apparently. I could only come up with three answers for this. That’s it. The rest of my answers would’ve been lying or bending the rules to make it work.

So how do I feel I can talk about this topic still? By showing some statistics. This exercise might be kind of meaningless, because really it just shows that I don’t tend toward the same patterns. I tend toward honesty about whichever book was my favorite. I don’t show any loyalty to the order the book came in the series. For me at least, there’s no pattern. Let’s get into it, and you’ll see what I mean. Also, just a note that I tried to include series that I’d read enough of or finished, so that my opinion feels at least semi-authentic.

Series Where The First Book Was My Favorite:

  • The Southern Reach Trilogy by Jeff VanderMeer
  • The Blood Opera Sequence by Tanith Lee
  • The Bill Hodges Trilogy by Stephen King
  • Lilith’s Brood by Octavia E. Butler

Series Where The Second Book Was My Favorite:

  • The Hunger Games Trilogy by Suzanne Collins
  • Tales of the Flat Earth by Tanith Lee
  • The First Law Series by Joe Abercrombie

Series Where The Third Book Was My Favorite:

  • The Hyperion Cantos by Dan Simmons
  • The Dark Tower Series by Stephen King
  • A Song of Ice and Fire by George R.R. Martin
  • Locke & Key by Joe Hill

Series Where The Fourth Book Was My Favorite:

  • The Secret Books of Paradys by Tanith Lee

Series Where My Favorite Was Deep Into The Series:

  • The Sandman Series by Neil Gaiman (Book Seven)
  • The Chronicles of Narnia by C.S. Lewis (Book Six)
  • Swamp Thing by Alan Moore (Book Five)
  • Bone by Jeff Smith (Book Six)
  • Sweet Tooth by Jeff Lemire (Book Six)

As you can see, it’s really random. Some series peak early, others reach a high in the middle, and some conclude really well. All of these are series I love, regardless of which book was my favorite, so even that is just blowing smoke. If I’m being honest, to devote enough time to a series to complete it, I have to love it all the way through. That’s definitely true of all of these. I don’t think this was a bad topic, but for the way I read and think about series, it didn’t suit me.

Thanks for reading this ramble and happy geeking!

Support This Blog:

 

4 thoughts on “#T5W: Second Book Is Best (Rarely?)

    • quillsblog says:

      I do seem to fall somewhere in the middle a lot, but it’s not always the second book. And many times I do agree, the beginning and end tend to have the most building of worlds and characters in them.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

