Currently Reading

currentlyreading

Allow me to give a little update before I get into this one. I did an announcement about getting a new job, and it’s gone really well, and I’m enjoying it a lot. It also resulted in me catching a bad cold, because I was working very closely with the public for the first time in ages. I’m getting better, but it’s been a drain, since I’ve been pushing through to work sick. That means I ran out of backlog posts, and now I’m befuddled about where to start again. So then let’s start easy. What am I currently reading?

I’m in the middle of too many books, to tell the truth. Another thing that happened when I started this job is I started book hopping. It was in part because I was slightly stressed by the new situation I found myself in. I don’t deal particularly well with change, so I was using all my personal resources to try to cope with it until I adjusted (which rest assured, I have). That meant my penchant for mood reading went haywire. I kept switching books on a whim.

One thing I’d like to accomplish before the month is out is finishing Lilith’s Brood AKA the Xenogenesis Trilogy by Octavia Butler. I have finished book two, and I started book three. I just need to continue it. This trilogy is fantastic and so readable, so it shouldn’t be too much of a strain. Once I’m done with it, my next goal with Butler is to read Seed to Harvest. It’s tempting to start it now, but obviously I would like to finish some of these others first.

Another problem I come up against is whenever I purchase a new book, it becomes the shiny thing I want to read right then. This happened with Banewreaker by Jacqueline Carey. It’s the first in a duology known as The Sundering, and I’m loving it so much. It’s become my main focus at the moment because of it. It’s written to be a commentary on The Lord of the Rings, deliberately mimicking Tolkien’s world to speak on how evil and goodness is not as black and white as that series is. I say she mimics Tolkien, but I also have to point out she’s created her own world here, and it’s very deep. More to tell once I finish it, but this one has all of my attention.

The Heroes by Joe Abercrombie got lost in the shuffle during all this, too. It’s a very dense, long book, and I ended up not being in the mood for it once all the changes started with my new schedule. But the fact remains I was loving it, and I intend to return to it.

Another I started because it happened to come in the mail was The Hike by Drew Magary. I probably should’ve stuck with this one all the way through, because it seems like light fare so far. Again, will be returning to it. Hopefully sooner rather than later.

Then there are those books I’ve been in the middle of for a while, and I can’t decide if I should pick them up again or DNF indefinitely. Both are by Catherynne Valente, one being Deathless and the other being The Melancholy of Mechagirl. I was trying to give her a chance, because she sounded like she’d be my kind of author, only to discover she isn’t. I could go further into that, but I may save it for another article, depending on if I finish these or not.

That’s it so far. Hopefully I can control myself and finish some things. Thanks for reading, and as always, happy geeking!

Support This Blog:

Leave a Reply

