The Inside & Out Book Tag

booktag

I saw this one over at Books and Hot Tea, and it looked like a good discussion oriented book tag. So I decided to try it. Let’s get going.

1. Inside flap/Back of the book summaries: Too much info? Or not enough? 

I tend to think of them as just right if done correctly. I have come across books that, once I read them, I realize the summary didn’t properly describe the book. For the most part though summaries are what draw me in. There’s enough there to whet the appetite, I think. I’ve never come across one that had spoilers within the summary itself, so definitely not too much.


2. New book: What form do you want it in? Be honest: Audiobook, E-Book, Paperback, or Hardcover?

Hardcover. I know some people hate them, but I don’t relate to that. I think they look fantastic on a shelf. If dust jackets bother you, they are removable, and I never read them with the jacket on. I feel the most proud of owning the book when it’s a hardback, for sure.

3. Scribble while you read? Do you like to write in your books, taking notes, making comments, or do you keep your books clean clean clean?

I like to keep my books clean. Even though I buy used books, and not all of them are in 100% pristine condition, I like to take care of my books. I don’t know what it is about writing in a book that feels like sacrilege. Probably because my mother worked in a library, and writing in library books is such a huge no-no.

4. Does it matter to you whether the author is male or female when you’re deciding on a book? What if you’re unsure of the author’s gender?

I don’t choose books based on gender, but I admit that I do get a little more interested if they’re female. The reason being that I read a lot of genre fiction and dark fiction. Those areas of fiction have been considered a man’s world for so long, and we’re starting to gain more female voices in them, which is essential. As a woman who has read a lot of fantasy, science fiction, and horror starring men and by men, it’s always refreshing to encounter something new.

5. Ever read ahead? Or have you ever read the last page way before you got there?

NO! No, I never do this. I gotta catch my breath after that outburst. My mom does this, and it drives me bonkers. Don’t read ahead. There’s no point in reading something if you’re just going to skip to the ending. I know sometimes books get harrowing, and you’re not sure if it’s going to end right or if everyone’s going to live to see the end, but please just be fearless. Just read until you get there. Don’t ruin the whole point of reading at all.

6. Organised bookshelves or outrageous bookshelves?

I’m not sure you could call my bookshelves outrageous, but they are only barely organized. My books are arranged based on… where I have room for more books. The very least I try to do is group an author’s work all together, and even that doesn’t always work out. But I know where everything is. There is still method to my madness.

7. Have you ever bought a book based on the cover (alone)?

I’ve gotten interested in a book based on the cover. But I never bought a book just because of it. I think a good cover peaks your interest, but I don’t think that’s the only reason to buy something. Because I don’t keep books that I don’t enjoy, I wouldn’t see the point in having a pretty book I didn’t like, so it’s still all about summaries for me.

8. Take it outside to read or stay in?

Stay in. Harsh temperatures and the elements aren’t for me. I’m lucky to live where we do have seasons, but there really are only a couple of weeks out of the year where conditions are just right for being outside. Besides, I’m a creature comforts sort of person.

If this looked good to you, feel free to try it out and say I tagged you. As always, happy geeking!

Support This Blog:

Exclusive posts go up on the Patreon every Friday!

One thought on “The Inside & Out Book Tag

Leave a Reply

