#T5W: Summer Reads

top5

I’ll just admit right up top that I don’t read based on the season. I think this comes from being a horror fan. For most people, scary things exist only in October. I don’t think that way. Halloween is year ’round as far as I’m concerned. I’m also not sure what a “summer read” is. I seem to understand autumn and winter reads on some level. Darker stuff set in cold climates. Spring and summer… Twee romances on beaches? Which is not a genre I read. I’ve heard thrillers called “beach reads” before. Is that what everyone means? Well, based on that intro, watch me stumble through my answers!

5. You and Hidden Bodies by Caroline Kepnes. Thrillers! Beach reads! Right? Am I close? I remember reading You in a day, it was that compulsive of a book. Couldn’t put it down. But it has to be said that, as far as summery settings, Hidden Bodies (the sequel) is probably more on the nose. Since our main character spends most of the book in California. It’s also a bit more about a twisted love story than the previous one was. Summer! I’m such a fall person, and this is really showing how much so.

4. The Regulators by Stephen King. Set during summer, if I’m remembering correctly. In a neighborhood where everything is quiet and peaceful until sudden, violent death arrives. Again, really fast-paced. The action takes place over a short period of time, which makes it quite the page-turner. It’s like a movie blockbuster in book form. Fun and readable, all the way.

3. The Resort by Bentley Little. All my answers are turning out dark, but when I think of books that are set during summer or involve summer activities (such as going to stay at a resort for your family vacation), I keep coming back to the horror novels I’ve loved. This one is… exactly what I said. A family stays at a resort, and weird, horrible things happen. With satire thrown in, because Little just can’t help himself. It’s a highly entertaining, dark romp.

2. Bone by Jeff Smith. Let’s go a little lighter, since I think for summer, that’s what most people want. This epic comic series is a lot of fun for all ages with a really great, fantasy world as its setting. It’s the sort of thing that, if you took your time with it, could fill an otherwise uneventful summer with wonder. And laughter. It’s also pretty funny for a large portion of it.

1. Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn. Not that anyone exists who either a) hasn’t read this already or b) has decided they don’t care to read it. But it’s the definition of the beach read. The book you take on vacation that, even while you’re busy doing vacation-y stuff, you’ll want to make time for it. Because it’s really gripping and full of twists and turns. I don’t think anyone can argue with that.

Phew! Okay. Come back to me when it’s fall, and recommending books will get a lot easier for this goth-at-heart. Thanks for reading, and as always, happy geeking!

Support This Blog:

Exclusive posts go up on the Patreon every Friday!

2 thoughts on “#T5W: Summer Reads

  1. silviakaybooks says:

    Haha I’m one of those rare people who haven’t read Gone Girl yet but want to XD Great list! I really need to get into reading Stephen King.

    Like

Leave a Reply

