Series I Need To Finish

seriestalk

My relationship with book series is interesting, to say the least. A series has to be something I consider special to keep me reading book after book set in the same world about the same general storyline. Even then, because I’m a mood reader, keeping up with series and returning to them in a timely fashion can be a challenge for me. With that in mind, I’m trying to improve and finish some things. So let’s talk about all the series I’m in the middle of.

The First Law Series by Joe Abercrombie. Currently working on this one. I’m up to book five, The Heroes, and I’m currently reading it. He’s working on the next trilogy set in this world, and I want to be ready. I do have plenty of time to get through my current read, Red Country, and Sharp Ends, but I’m feeling motivated right now, so I’m going with that feeling. I think what slowed me down was not being a big fan of Best Served Cold, but The Heroes is great so far and has put me back on track.

The Magicians Trilogy by Lev Grossman. Another one where I was left feeling torn. There was so much I loved about the first book, and so much that was deeply frustrating, mostly about the characters. But again, like the above, I’ve found new fire for it. Mainly because I was discussing the trilogy with a friend who has finished it, and she was spurring me on. That’s some good advice I can give actually. If you’re not sure how to move on a series, to finish or not to finish, talk to someone passionate about it. They’ll make you see the reasons why you should give it another chance.

The Chronicles of Prydain by Lloyd Alexander. This one is shameful. I’ve read the first three books and loved them. Their intended audience is middle grade, so they’re quick, easy reads. There’s no good reason why I haven’t wrapped this one up yet, and it’s high on the list of priorities because of that. The only current problem is I’m in the middle of so many books right now. But it’s in the back of my brain, simmering there.

The Dune Chronicles by Frank Herbert. This series keeps getting put off because the books are challenging. I can admit that with no shame. I’ve read the first two books, and they’re spectacular, but they’re sort of heavy reads. I tend to take long breaks between books so I don’t burn out. Still Children of Dune is probably going to blow my mind, and I’m aware I need to get to it.

The Secret Books of Paradys by Tanith Lee. She wrote so many series, so I try to keep myself to one at a time. This is my current one I’m making my way through, and I’m close to being done. I’m partway through book three, then I’ll read book four and be finished. As a result, this one might happen fairly soon. I find Lee so readable and tend to blast through her books. This series has been very weird and gothic, which is perfectly to my tastes, so it’s been a breeze to read.

A Song of Ice and Fire by George R.R. Martin. I haven’t read A Dance With Dragons. I don’t know how I managed to sprint my way through the first four books and then reach the fifth and balk. I think it’s all the negative feedback it’s gotten. I’ve seen plenty of people, including those whose opinions I hold dear, say this one was a slog. To be as long as these books are and a slog… I’ve done it. I’ve read huge books that were a total drain. (I’m looking at you, Insomnia.) It’s not fun. So I’m hesitant. Feel free to tell me I’m worried about nothing. I’d actually appreciate it.

Ex Machina by Brian K. Vaughan. This one is more about not having the money to collect a comic series at the moment. When I started this, I did. I had the money for it. Then I started to not have the money. And I don’t know if you’re aware, but being a comic fan, even if you only collect trades like I do, is expensive. You’re paying rather a lot for these slim volumes. The good news is that soon I’ll be able to take this up again. Given a month or two. And at that point, I’ll no doubt rush to the end. Because this series is great.

Lilith’s Brood by Octavia E. Butler. Normally I hesitate to begin new series until I’ve finished old ones, so I don’t feel overwhelmed by being in the middle of so many things. I couldn’t resist this one, and I was right to give in, because it’s incredible. I have a feeling this is one that I’ll devour in its entirety, because it’s so hard to resist reading. I’m even enjoying it on that level where I want to take it slow and savor it, but I can’t because I’m reading it so fast, as if my life depends on it. Obviously recommended.

Those are the series that are at the forefront for me at the moment. What are some you’re making your way through? Let me know in the comments. As always, happy geeking!

Support This Blog:

Exclusive posts go up on the Patreon every Friday!

One thought on “Series I Need To Finish

Leave a Reply

