#T5W: Books as Event Themes

top5

Welcome to another Top 5 Wednesday. This time we’re talking about books as themes for parties or weddings or anything fancy enough to require a get-together. While I’m quite the introvert, I don’t know if I could resist going to a book-themed party. So let’s talk about the ones that would tempt me the most.

First, a note. No Game of Thrones themed parties here. Why? Because wouldn’t you be jinxing yourself? Could you imagine playfully trying to have a Red Wedding IRL and then things go terribly, horribly awry? I read way too much horror to tempt fate like that. GRRM will have to wait another day to harvest my soul.

5. The Sandman by Neil Gaiman. There are so many directions to go in for this one because the story is so vast, but for me, the obvious one is to recreate Dream’s realm. Whimsy is never a bad move when you’re creating atmosphere for a party, and Sandman is full of whimsy. So fairy tale with a goth edge. That aesthetic really suits me.

4. The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern. Another one a bit like the above, but even easier to pull off. This book is so descriptive that it really lays it all out for you. Black and white color scheme with a hint of red. Lots of decadent, fun food. And circus! But classy, Victorian circus. All while working in hints of magic and wonder in whatever way seems to compliment the theme best.

3. Watchmen by Alan Moore. The idea that struck me here was the little kid superhero party but grown up. Don’t get any funky ideas. I only mean more mature. Not anything that would alienate your guests. A superhero-themed birthday, but you get to have booze and there are no screaming children. Everyone could dress up like a dime-store hero. That could potentially be a blast.

2. Stephen King. The ultimate Halloween party. Pulling from his entire bibliography, there’d be no end to the fun references you could make. Even just having balloons at the party becomes a references, bonus points if they float. Even for those who are casual fans, this could become a scavenger hunt to notice all the different nods to his work. Plus, it would be genuinely spooky. (Overlook Hotel haunted house? I keep getting new ideas for this one. I need to stop.)

1. Wintersong by S. Jae-Jones. This is where I asked myself, “what would be my ideal wedding?” This. All of this. Dark fairy tale with all the trappings. Beautiful and fantastical but with that “magic comes with a price” edge to it. I can’t even say more than that, because if you read this book and absorb the atmosphere it creates, you’ll understand exactly what I mean. Dark and lovely.

Thanks for reading, and as always, happy geeking!

Support This Blog:

Exclusive posts go up on the Patreon every Friday!

One thought on “#T5W: Books as Event Themes

Leave a Reply

