The Wishlist Book Tag

booktag

This tag was created by Kingdom Book Blog, and I was tagged by The Book Prophet. A big thank you for tagging me, because this is a fun one. It’s all about books that are on your wishlist. Let’s get going!

1. Pick the two books you most want to purchase/receive at this moment

First, We Are All Completely Fine by Daryl Gregory. It’s about a support group for people who have survived supernatural horrors, and it sounds like it will be perfect for me, especially since what I read that convinced me called it a character study.

Secondly, The Fifth Season by N.K. Jemisin. This one probably needs no introduction. It’s an SFF book making the rounds, and it sounds as amazing as everyone says it is. I mean, a huge part of this world is the fact that it’s ending. Apocalypses are sort of my jam.

2. Pick a book that you have wanted for the longest time

The book that has been on my wishlist the longest is His Father’s Son by Bentley Little. I’d call that accurate, because I do still really want it. I’ve been trying to get through the Little books I already own before I buy more, but rest assured that one is first on the list when the time comes. It’s about a son forced to confront the sudden onset of mental illness in his father and how that reflects on his own mental health. It has all the potential to be amazing.

3. Pick a sequel or companion story that you want to own

Sharp Ends by Joe Abercrombie. I’m still making my way through the First Law stand-alones, so I want to wait until I’ve finished those before I tackle this. Sharp Ends is a short story collection, with all of the tales being set in the First Law universe. So I’m trying to avoid spoilers and read everything in chronological order, but I do really want this. Especially for that Glokta story. Where my Glokta girls at?

4. Pick an entire series (or box set) that you want to get your hands on

The Craft Sequence by Max Gladstone. I haven’t read any of these, but I feel the distinct need to own them all immediately, because the summaries sound like great fun. It’s a very different sort of fantasy series, and it sounds as if it takes satire to a whole new level. In reality, I’ll probably buy the first one, see how I feel about it, and go from there. But buying them all is tempting.

5. Pick a book from a favorite author of yours that you want to own

Space Is Just A Starry Night by Tanith Lee. I’m digging her short story collections so much right now, and this is yet another that sounds amazing. All the stories revolve around space in some way, and as with Legenda Maris, half the fun is going to be discovering how they do. It’s high up on the priority list.

6. Pick a popular book that you really want on your shelves

Illuminae by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff, more out of curiosity than anything. I’ve seen some major SF readers say this one is really great, and I’m eager to see for myself. I’m always interested in books that use a different format to tell its story, so it would at least be a fun experiment.

7. Pick a book that you just recently decided that you wished to own

Beauty and the Beast: Classic Tales About Animal Brides and Grooms From Around The World by Maria Tatar. That title is something else, but it also says it all. It’s a fairy tale collection that I hope includes some insight into this phenomenon as well. Beauty and the Beast is my favorite fairy tale, so I’d love to learn more about it and others like it through this book.

8. Pick a book that is either in the mail or you are going to purchase next

I have two on their way. First, Redder Than Blood by Tanith Lee. Speaking of fairy tales, this is a collection of retellings. I’d previously read Red As Blood by her, and it’s one of my favorites. I’m confident this one will leave the same impression.

The second is Lilith’s Brood by Octavia Butler. I’ve heard so many people rave about this trilogy, and I’m dying to give it a try. It sounds very unique and strange, which is entirely my favorite kind of thing.

9. Pick a hidden gem novel that you would like to read

I’ll say it’s hard for me to know if it’s a hidden gem or should stay hidden for good reason until I read it. But with hope in my heart, I’d like to try The Lure of Devouring Light by Michael Griffin. It’s one of many dark short story collections I have on my wishlist, and this one in particular doesn’t have many reviews. Horror tends to be an underground genre in many ways, so this may end up being a personal discovery of some great work.

10. Finally, pick a new release you really want to have

Borne by Jeff VanderMeer. Unfortunately it has to wait, but I do want this rather badly. Everything I read by him, I love, and I have a feeling this won’t be any different. It’s set in the same world as “The Situation”, which was a fantastic story, so I feel very ready for this one.

I Tag: Anyone who wants to give this a shot! I know that’s really vague, but I like to feel like if you’re reading this, you’re tagged. Everyone gets to be included. And you’ll want to do this one. It was a good time.

Thanks for reading, and as always, happy geeking!

Support This Blog:

Exclusive posts go up on the Patreon every Friday!

 

Leave a Reply

