#T5W: Authors I Want To Read More From

top5

Welcome to another Top 5 Wednesday. This time we’re talking about authors I’ve read and would love to read more of. I’m a big proponent of reading full bibliographies of authors. I’ve done it and am in the process of doing it a few times, but here are the ones I need to give that same love and attention.

5. James Herbert. The British Stephen King. I’ve read three of his books. The Fog and The Dark were both a lot of fun. If you consider depravity and horror fun, which I do. Then I read The Survivor and really didn’t like it at all. I think that’s made it hard to go back to him. It’ll feel like starting again after slogging through a bad book. Two out of three, as Meatloaf would say, ain’t bad, but it’s made me a little antsy, I think. So I want to, but my brain rebels and reminds me of The Survivor every time.

4. Margaret Atwood. This is another like the above. I read The Handmaid’s Tale, and don’t hate me, but I wasn’t impressed. I was pretty let down actually. The hype train failed me. Then I read Cat’s Eye, and it instantly became one of my favorite books. What a difference reading the right book can make. I want her work to be mostly Cat’s Eyes and no more Handmaid’s Tales. Of course, I can’t guarantee that, so it’s taking me a while to get back into her.

3. Mary Doria Russell. The Sparrow is one of my favorite science fiction novels of all time. It contains everything I love about speculative fiction. I need to read the sequel, Children of God, and see what comes next. Part of my trepidation is due to the darkness of the first book and the uncertainty of being ready for it. Also, it just so happens that she apparently holds the same fascination for the American Old West that I do, and she wrote a book all about Doc Holliday called simply Doc, so I intend to give that one a shot. Basically she could end up becoming one of my favorite authors ever if I’d just read more of her work.

2. Ryu Murakami. This one was a recent discovery. I read In the Miso Soup, thought it was a good thriller, and I want to try more of his work. Not everything he did in Miso Soup wowed me, but I enjoyed the writing and the insight into Japanese culture. Audition is the next one I want to tackle. As a horror fan, this one has become a must-read in regards toΒ translated fiction, so there’s that as well.

1. Angela Carter. What am I doing? Why am I sitting here instead of reading Angela Carter? I’ve read two of her books (The Passion of New Eve and The Bloody Chamber), and I bring them both up often. I own three more of her books, and it’s really my own fault I haven’t gotten to any of them yet. Prioritizing books and being in the right mood for things is something I struggle with, but I don’t want to keep putting her off. I know she’s amazing. I just need to give her work more of my time.

There are definitely more, but these are the top five that are especially on my mind. Thank you for reading, and as always, happy geeking!

Support This Blog:

Exclusive posts go up on the Patreon every Friday!

9 thoughts on “#T5W: Authors I Want To Read More From

Leave a Reply

