For the Love of Classics Book Tag

booktag

This tag was created by TheSkepticalReader over on YouTube, and it seems like an interesting one. Here I’ll be discussing classics and my various relationships with them. Let’s get started.

1. Why do you read classics and how often do you read them?

The classics that I choose are based solely on whether the summary or contents sound intriguing. I don’t make choices based on importance or whether I feel I should read them. Those things are just a bonus to me. As far as how often I read them, whenever the mood strikes. I treat them like any other book I want to read, and when I’m in the mood for it, I pick it up.

2. What is a period/country/culture that you haven’t read many classics from and would like to?

The 1920s. Ever since I read The Great Gatsby, I’ve been fascinated by that era. I could probably stand to explore it more. As for cultures and other countries, any of them. Broadening my horizons is probably needed, so narrowing it down is actually kind of difficult.

3. Which modern book do you think will be a classic in 100 years time?

Oh God, didn’t I just struggle with this question recently? Check out this post for my whinging and crying over it. It’s so hard to say, but that link holds my best guesses.

4. What was the last classic you read?

The Canterville Ghost by Oscar Wilde, and it was a dud. I need to pick up another piece of work by him since this one didn’t work out.

5. What was the first classic you ever read?

Unfortunately it was Little Women by Louisa May Alcott. And I hated it. I was in sixth grade (if you’re not from America and find that confusing, I was about twelve), and we were tasked to pick out a classic. I thought this would suit me, and it really didn’t. I can probably say with some authority it still wouldn’t. It’s very much not my style of story. When you’re young and still discovering what you like and don’t like, it’s important to experiment. This one just happened to fail. Luckily it didn’t put me off classics forever.

6. Favorite classic book cover?

I happen to own several of the Barnes and Noble leather-bound classics. If you’ve never seen these, they are gorgeous. My favorites are Dracula by Bram Stoker and Frankenstein by Mary Shelley, especially because they compliment each other and look beautiful together on the shelf.

7. Classic authors you wish had written more books?

Emily Bronte. Wuthering Heights was an incredibly good time, and when I realized that’s it, that’s all she wrote, I felt so mournful. We definitely needed more from someone so sharp.

8. Least favorite classic?

Little Women still wins. I don’t think anything has taken its throne.

9. Favorite translated classic?

The Metamorphosis by Franz Kafka. A very bleak, strange, sad story that I very much enjoyed. I’d like to read more by him, in fact. I also wish I’d read more translated works to have a more varied answer for this question. Something to remedy in the future.

10. Favorite modern classic (published in/after 1900)?

I tend to favor modern classics, so there are many. Choosing only one, I’d say Slaughterhouse Five by Kurt Vonnegut. It was one of those books that when I finally read it, I realized I’d been wasting my life not reading Vonnegut. It’s pure genius, so accessible, and what I tend to think of when I think of books with staying power.

11. Classic literary places you would like to visit?

Who wouldn’t love to go to the moors that inspired Wuthering Heights? That would be a fantastic trip. Or the places Fitzgerald and Hemingway frequented when they’d sit around waxing philosophical. Go see a production of any of Shakespeare’s plays as near to the original theater as you can now get. Any of that would be a dream come true.

13. Classics you think are mistitled and what would you title them?

I think The Great Gatsby was a misleading title. For starters, it’s a little too ironic, since he ain’t that great in the end. Secondly, he sounds like a magician. Just Gatsby would’ve been a better title, I think. It’s just intriguing enough.

14. Your favorite classic you’d like to recommend to everyone?

Anything by H.G. Wells. The Time Machine, War of the Worlds, The Island of Dr. Moreau, First Men in the Moon. Try one. He’s so fun. He’s the perfect gateway if the idea of classics makes you nervous. He’ll break the ice, and before you know it, you’re reading classics like a pro.

15. Who do we tag? 

Anyone who would like to try their hand at this. Go for it! I’d love to see your answers.

Thank you for reading and happy geeking!

Support This Blog:

2 thoughts on “For the Love of Classics Book Tag

    • quillsblog says:

      That is true. I have always been a nerd of the sci-fi/fantasy/horror variety, ever since I was a kid, so it would make sense that Wells would be my gateway into reading more classics and making me more fearless about trying them. And that Little Women wouldn’t suit me. Yet I’m glad I tried it, because it’s good to explore and discover not just what you like but what you don’t like and why.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

