Readathon: Tome Topple

readathon

I’m going to participate in the latest Tome Topple Readathon (click that link for the announcement video with all the rules and challenges). It will be taking place between April 7 – April 20, and the idea is to read books over 500 pages. It is rare for me to join in a reading challenge, since I’m such a mood reader, but this felt like a good opportunity to tackle some of the larger books I own. So let’s get into my TBR.

The first book I have selected is The Blood of Roses by Tanith Lee. Probably not surprising because I’ve been reading a lot of Tanith Lee lately, but this one is over 600 pages. Meaning even though I love her, that’s intimidating. It’s a fantasy/vampire sort of thing that promises to be epic and bizarre, so I’m looking forward to giving it the time it deserves. This is going to be my main read. If I don’t accomplish anything other than this, I’ll still be happy.

I’m going to attempt to tackle more than one tome though. Because I’m a mood reader, I’ll give you an idea of what that might be, though I can’t make any promises.

The Heroes by Joe Abercrombie is a very likely candidate. I’ve been meaning to return to his work, and I’ve been assured this is great. He also tends to be a quick read for me, despite the size of his books. This takes place in the First Law universe, which I love so it shouldn’t be too hard for me to get into and finish.

If The Heroes turns out not to be my speed at the moment, I have plenty of long books to choose from. The Wars of the Flowers by Tad Williams, A Dance With Dragons by George R.R. Martin, and I Am Radar by Reif Larsen, just to name a few.

I’ll be attempting to fulfill the following challenges:

  • Read more than one tome
  • Read part of a series
  • Read an adult novel

I could go for a graphic novel, as I do own ones that are over 500 pages. But I’ve already read them all, and I don’t want to attempt a reread with this readathon.

Wish me luck! And as always, happy geeking!

Support This Blog:

Leave a Reply

