Upcoming Releases of 2017

upcomingreleases

It’s time again to talk about my most anticipated upcoming releases. So far. As always, this list will probably grow as the year unfolds. For now, let’s have a look at what to expect.

Universal Harvester by John Darnielle (February 7, 2017) Wolf in White Van had some hype around it when it first came out, and it sounded off the beaten path, so I tried it. I loved it. I’m talking new favorite book levels of love. That means I’m very hyped for this. Darnielle seems to like telling stories with retro, nostalgic trappings, so this one revolves around a video rental store. Remember those? The main character works at just such a place, and he starts getting complaints from customers. The VHS tapes have scenes replaced with footage from a nearby barn, and the spliced in scenes are simple and yet sinister. This sounds deliciously unsettling, and I can’t wait to get my hands on it.

Norse Mythology by Neil Gaiman (February 7, 2017) Gaiman is a favorite author of mine, and I always follow him closely to see what’s coming next. This one sounds genuinely great. It’s a collection of Norse myth retellings. No one knows myth and legend like Gaiman, and it means he’s a master at chewing them up and spitting them back out in dark, fun ways. Very promising.

Agents of Dreamland by Caitlin R. Kiernan (February 28, 2017) I read The Red Tree last year and was mesmerized by it. I haven’t really known what to read by her next, only that I want to keep following her. This seems like a great next step, as it’s a novella and it’s Lovecraftian, much like The Red Tree. There’s a cult, government spooks, and the hint of alien life. That sounds wonderful to me.

Borne by Jeff VanderMeer (April 25, 2017) This one sounds weird, but what do you expect from the king of weird? This idea appears to be born (heh) of some ideas and worlds he first put forth in his collection The Third Bear. Because I love that collection and especially the stories he was further inspired by here, I’m eager to see what happens. Our main character lives within the same world VanderMeer first created in “The Situation”. One day, she finds a… thing. Whether it’s plant or animal is up for debate. It has some kind of influence over her and might change her strange world entirely. I can’t wait.

Black Mad Wheel by Josh Malerman (2017) Bird Box was a surprising novel that the horror genre needed to prove there are still unmined depths of fear that need exploring. With his new novel, it seems he’s continuing this journey. A band called The Danes are tasked with finding a “debilitating sound”, and their journey is mysterious and arduous. There’s also a nurse caring for a patient who is healing at an incredible pace. It’s very vague and ominous sounding with lots of questions posed, and that sounds great. Bird Box was the same way, and the frightening journey to get to those answers was wonderful. I hope this delivers in the same way.

The Handyman by Bentley Little (2017) I literally know nothing about this. I can’t seem to find an official release statement, but it’s being talked about and listed among upcoming horror releases. Simply rumored or not, I do hope it’s true that Little is putting out another novel this year, as I’m a fan of his work, even with the ups and downs. Also, let me take a wild guess and assume this novel is about some kind of handyman who is either secretly a monster or a more human monster of the serial killer variety. I imagine I’m not far from the mark.

Earth’s Master by Tanith Lee (2017) I saved the best for last. Since Tanith Lee’s passing, this book has been whispered about. The sixth book in The Flat Earth Cycle. Her final touch to what is honestly her magnum opus. I am so hyped for this, I can’t talk about it without filling each sentence with squee. The publisher for this book, DAW, is reissuing the first five books with new covers. This was a dire need, as her books tend to go out of print and fall into obscurity, and of all her work, it would be the worst tragedy for it to happen here. Once they finish with their reissues, they’ll release this book, the final in the series. So if you’re not even aware this existed, this is the perfect time to read and collect them all. Trust me, it’s worth your time.

What are you most anticipated releases of this year? Let me know in the comments. As always, happy geeking!

Support This Blog:

One thought on “Upcoming Releases of 2017

Leave a Reply

