#T5W: Fictional New Year’s Eve Party

top5

This week’s topic is characters I’d invite to my New Year’s Eve party. To be totally transparent, I’m not a party kind of girl. I’m pretty introverted. So this list is going to be comprised not of answer that are cute or popular so much as answers that suit me. Characters I would really want to hang out with that would make me get over my social anxiety for an evening.

5. Nicodemus from Shakespeare’s Planet by Clifford D. Simak. The first thing my party will obviously need is a sassy android. It’s been a while since I’ve read this one, but I remember Nicodemus being my favorite character, and I also remember him being a sass-master. That’ll make for some fun. Also, his physical needs will be minimal, so I won’t have to stress as much about food and drink for him. I’m nothing if not practical.

4. Tyrion Lannister from A Song of Ice and Fire by George R.R. Martin. I imagine he’s going to show up on a lot of lists, and there’s good reason for that. He’d be good company, good conversation, and he’d be sure to enjoy himself. He’s a reader, so we’d probably have a lot to talk about. I might have to worry about him getting drunk, but I also wouldn’t have a problem with him crashing on my couch.

3. Death from The Sandman by Neil Gaiman. I know on some level that must sound godawful, but if you’ve ever read this series, you know Death is actually a very chill lady. She’s kind and funny and would be very cool to spend time with. Also, man, I have a ton of questions. I’d probably drive her nuts with all my existential crap.

2.Tammy Lauper from Coldheart Canyon by Clive Barker. The first time I read this book, I was struck by how much I felt I had in common with Tammy. Which makes inviting her to my party a no-brainer. We’d get along swimmingly. There’d be no end to the things we’d find in common. And after everything she endured throughout the course of her story, I think she could use a party, good company, and a stiff drink.

1. Smiley Bone from Bone by Jeff Smith. Definitely would be the life of the party. In fact, he’d probably take over the party, cooking and handing out refreshments and being a great host. Which means I could relax and actually enjoy everyone’s company instead of obsessing over everything be perfect. Also, he’s just hilarious. I like funny people, and if you want funny, he’s at the top of the list.

Thanks for reading, and as always, happy geeking!

Support This Blog:

2 thoughts on “#T5W: Fictional New Year’s Eve Party

Leave a Reply

