#T5W: Fictional Items I’d Give As Gifts

top5

A very interesting topic with Christmas so close. I do sort of wish I could reach into a book and pull out gifts, as I think it would’ve made the whole process easier in general. Here are the top five I’d choose were that possible.

5. One of Edgar’s paintings from Duma Key by Stephen King. My friends and I are always talking about how when paintings are described in works of fiction, we’d love to see them. More than any other book that has done this, I’d love to see Edgar Freemantle’s paintings. His work was described as very surreal and based heavily on Salvador Dali, one of my favorite artists of all time. He also happens to be a favorite of a close friend of mine, and if I were able to give her a painting straight out of this book, I know it would blow her mind.

4. Any of the keys from Locke and Key by Joe Hill and Gabriel Rodriguez. My favorite of all the keys is the Head Key. You can unlock your head and take anything out or put anything in. I think that’s incredibly handy, but all the keys in this series are amazing and work wonders. Of course, I’d have to be careful which keys I gifted and to who. Huge responsibility, that.

3. A robot from The Silver Metal Lover by Tanith Lee. In this universe, there exist romantic robots that have all sorts of talents and are very awesome. Yes, I would give all of my friends one apiece if I had the power. Especially because they apparently have the ability to suddenly become sentient and actually fall in love with you. This is a very female answer for this top five, but let’s not even pretend, it would be amazing if this were real. But hopefully I could make it work without that ending. That would sort of ruin the gift.

2. A billy-bumbler from The Dark Tower by Stephen King. Maybe this doesn’t technically count as an ‘item’, or about as much as a robot does. But people give pets for Christmas! It’s that same idea, only a fantastical pet that can sort of talk to you and is super smart and secretly a tiny gunslinger. I would die to have one of these little guys, and I know all my pet obsessed friends and family would, too.

1. The wardrobe from The Chronicles of Narnia by C.S Lewis. The ability to actually travel into a magical world full of mythical creatures. While there, you might even become their king or queen, saving their entire kingdom. And you come home in time to have some lunch, as if no time has passed. Screw getting a Playstation for Christmas. I want this! Er. Ahem. I want to give this. Of course.

Thanks for reading, and as always, happy geeking!

Support This Blog:

Leave a Reply

