#TFW: Books I Finally Want To Read In 2017

top5

5. The Martian by Andy Weir. I am probably the last person on planet earth who hasn’t read this. The hype monster has me wary of it by this point. When it was first getting attention, that would’ve been the time to tackle it. Now that it’s everyone’s favorite thing in the history of ever, I have a feeling it won’t live up to all that. Still I can’t help being intrigued. A space-faring story that’s meant to be steeped in realism. I can’t resist it. Just remind me to keep my expectations realistic, too.

4. The Heroes by Joe Abercrombie. The world of The First Law Series is easily one of my favorites, and while I blasted my way through the initial trilogy, I haven’t kept the same momentum since. Mainly because the first standalone, Best Served Cold, left me feeling, well, cold. I wasn’t wowed by it. I thought it was all right but not great. I’m hopeful The Heroes will be a better installment, and I’d like to see it reinvigorate my love for these books. It’s high time I at least tried.

3. Jane Eyre by Charlotte Bronte. It’s time to stop worrying about possibly disappointing a lot of people with my hypothetical opinion and actually form a real opinion. The hype machine strikes again, and it has me genuinely frightened of this book. I’m just stubborn enough to hate something everyone’s told me I’ll love, but the truth is I have to read it. Because of its reputation among my family and friends. Because I’ve been told I’ll love it. Because it seems like a book worth talking about again and again.

2. The Sunne in Splendour by Sharon Kay Penman. This was one I bought at the height of my Richard III obsession. It’s a historical novel that takes a more realistic view of the man and his short reign, and considering most people have been swallowing the propagandist version of events for some time now, I’m deeply intrigued. It’s also the kind of book that might cause you real, severe injury if it were hurled at you. I’m talking murder weapon levels of heft. That’s always slightly intimidating, but hopefully 2017 will be the year.

1. House of Leaves by Mark Z. Danielewski. And I call myself a horror fan. I know I have sinned here. How have I let this one get away? Well, it’s huge. And much of the formatting is wacky. There are footnotes and appendices galore, enough to make David Foster Wallace rise from the dead. Slightly daunting. That’s actually a theme among this top five. Books I’ve put off for a reason, but I should get over myself. Also, it’s one of those books that I have a feeling I’ll find brilliant and wonderful, and I think we all have a tendency to put those off. “Save that for a special day.” Which is slightly silly. Books we know we’ll love should be read soon. Now! Or at least before 2017 is over.

Thank you for reading. As always, happy geeking!

Support This Blog:

2 thoughts on “#TFW: Books I Finally Want To Read In 2017

  1. Jessica says:

    I had the same reservations about House of Leaves! It’s so good, though. I read it with my book club last year and it really is one of the most fun reading experiences I’ve ever had. I want to tackle all four volumes of The Familiar in 2017. House of Leaves is not a hard read. If it helps at all, I got to page 400 something of DFW’s Infinite Jest and haven’t opened it again. I’ll finish it, but it’s nothing like HOL. Enjoy the ride!

    Like

Leave a Reply

