#T5W: Books I Want To Reread

top5

Hello and welcome to another Top 5 Wednesday. This week, we’re talking about rereads. I’ve never reread a book. I do like to flick through old favorites and reread beloved passages. I do this a lot with It by Stephen King and The Silver Metal Lover by Tanith Lee. But I’ve never sat down and reread an entire book. The thought has crossed my mind though, and if I were going to, here are the first ones I’d pick.

5. Bone by Jeff Smith. It wasn’t that long ago that I read this comic series, but I loved it so incredibly much that I could see myself reading it again soon. It is a comic, so it would be fairly quick. Revisiting those characters and that world would be a great time, as much as the first time around.

4. American Psycho by Bret Easton Ellis. I’m a broken record about this one. I adore this book. I’ve read all of BEE’s work. So while I impatiently wait for the next book to come out, I could do some rereading. This one especially, because it’s my favorite, and because I’d like to do a more thorough reading of it. There’s so much detail in this satire, and I want to notice every bit.

3. Hamlet by William Shakespeare. I’m a big fan of this play. It’s my favorite of what I’ve read so far, which admittedly isn’t much. I read it back in my early twenties, and it’s time to go over it again probably. What holds me back is all the Shakespeare I haven’t read, of which there is a ton. There doesn’t seem to be much use in reading the same play over and over when there’s more to be explored. Still, it does call to me.

2. The Ignored by Bentley Little. This was the first of Little’s novels that I ever read. It was in high school, borrowed from a friend, and it blew my adolescent mind. I remember the premise and the beginning of the book being brilliant. I remember the crazy ending. Details have started to get very fuzzy. Part of me is afraid to go over it again and discover that teenage me was very easily amazed, but I also want all those details of a book I loved so much back.

1. The Dark Half by Stephen King. I’m winding up for a Stephen King reread, once I get those last couple of books over and done with. When that day comes, this is the first one I want to tackle. For similar reasons as above. I remember I adored this. I remember most of what went on, but not the finer workings. I’d also just like to see if I still fall for it now like I did then. Whether King retires or writes until he dies or even has a million posthumous things published after, I’ll always be reading him. Even if there’s nothing left to do but go slowly back through his massive bibliography.

Thank you for reading and, as always, happy geeking!

Support This Blog:

2 thoughts on “#T5W: Books I Want To Reread

Leave a Reply

