The “I Never” Book Tag

booktag

This tag was created by LizziefayeLovesBooks. Let’s get right into it, shall we?

1. “I never read that!” Name a book that you’ve never read, that everyone else has. There is plenty that fits here. I’m going with any book by Jane Austen. I don’t have a particular hate for her or anything. Her work has simply never appealed to me enough for me to want to spend time on it. I’m more of a Bronte girl myself.

2. “I never read anything so awesome!” Name your favorite book. This fluctuates depending on the day. I have a top five that I cycle through. There are a couple I tend to mention often, so let’s go with one I don’t talk about as much. Watership Down by Richard Adams. It’s a fantasy adventure novel starring rabbits. It’s also incredible. Very well-written and exciting throughout. Despite none of the main characters being human, I got really invested in their story. If you’ve ever scoffed at this book, give it a chance.

3. “I never thought I would get through it.” Name a book that you didn’t like, but powered through it anyway. The Woods Are Dark by Richard Laymon. I love horror, but this was some shockingly bottom-of-the-barrel stuff. I could do an entire article ranting about everything that was wrong with this book, starting with the terribly poor writing and ending with the extreme perversion of the whole thing. Yep, I’m kink-shaming a man who is not even here to defend himself any longer. Trust me, if anything deserves it, it was this thing. I finished it mainly because it was a total train wreck. In that way, I suppose it provided some form of entertainment at least.

4. “I will never finish that!” Name a book or a series that you don’t plan on finishing. The Corrections by Jonathan Franzen. I put this one down a long time ago and eventually just got rid of it, because I realized I would never pick it up again. Have you ever read a book that you were enjoying while you read it, but you felt absolutely no need to pick it up again when you put it down? This was that scenario for me. It was a really long, really involved, thoroughly written family drama that I found was fine while I was reading it but actually bored me to tears whenever I tried to think about it in hindsight.

5. “I will never regret reading that.” Name a book you read solely on a recommendation that you ended up really liking. The Book of Three by Lloyd Alexander. While I still desperately need to finish the entire series, The Chronicles of Prydain, that first book ignited something in me that I hadn’t felt since I was a kid. Any truly great children’s fantasy series has that power, and I can easily say Prydain does, too. This one passed me by when I was younger, but a close friend of mine was talking them up, and I realized I needed to give this a shot. To hell with being “too old” for it. And I was right to take the chance. You should, too.

6. ” I would never do that!” Name a relatable book character who made choices you didn’t agree with, or did things you would never do. For my part, I think characters can be interesting or relatable and have none of the same values or make any of the same choices as me. I don’t need a character to act as I would in order to enjoy something. I don’t ever find myself reading a story and thinking about how I would’ve navigated it. I’m not there for that. I’m there for the story being told. So while I’m sure there are answers for this question, it’s not the way I read or judge characters, so I can’t answer it well.

7. “I never wanted to admit it.” Name a book that you were embarrassed to say you read or were embarrassed to carry around with you. Well, I’m currently reading Love Ain’t Nothing But Sex Mispelled by Harlan Ellison. For obvious reasons, that’s a little uncomfortable in public. Bravely I took it with me for a long sit in a waiting room, only to find myself trying to position the book so the title and the questionable cover couldn’t be seen and getting super paranoid. I swear, I felt confident until I actually got in front of people. Story of my life.

8. “I never read anything so heartwarming.” Name a book or a series that really touched your heart. The Gargoyle by Andrew Davidson. Me and heartwarming don’t often mix, but I have to say this book knocked me for a loop. It’s really beautiful, romantic, and tragic, but also unlike anything you’ll ever read. There’s a touch of historical fiction. Portions of it brought to mind Chuck Palahniuk. The ending is the wildest acid-trip of a finish I’ve ever read. It leaves you feeling washed out with the emotions it runs you through. Including one of the best romances around.

9. “I never laughed so hard!” Name a book that made you laugh out loud. Okay. This is going to be a weird one. I’ve never finished Christine by Stephen King, but I started it at one point. It wasn’t for a lack of enjoyment. I just put it down, and by the time I was ready to pick it up again, it had been a very long time. Now I have to start over, and I haven’t found myself ready yet. But! There was a point in the story where the main character, Dennis, is bearing witness to these kids pissing off their dad. It eventually leads to this: “Oh God, what an onomatopoeic family, I thought. For Christ’s sake don’t put a bangshang-a-lang on them, Pops– they might make poopy-kaka in their pants.” Safe to say, I lost it.

10. “I never could have made it through childhood without it.” Name a favorite childhood book or book series. Goosebumps. Just the whole series by R.L. Stine. It became my gateway into adult horror. It also became an obsession that I collected dutifully. I have incredibly fond memories of these books. Through all kind of adversity I went through at school, these stories were a comfort. I could get lost in them. They ignited a love of reading that I still have to this day.

Thank you for reading, and I encourage all of you to try this tag for yourself. As always, happy geeking!

Support This Blog:

Leave a Reply

