Quill’s Reading Wrap-Up (April-June)

rwu

I haven’t done a monthly wrap-up in a while, and it’s because I wasn’t reading enough to justify one. I was feeling a bit slumpy. But that’s definitely not the case now, so it’s time to backtrack and talk about what I’ve read. First off, let’s talk about the things I wrote entire articles about.

Richard III by Shakespeare : Click that link to read my very in depth thoughts on this play. Anything else I could say would be redundant.

My Journey With Doctor Strange : Wherein I review four comic trades relating to Dr. Strange.

The Bill Hodges Trilogy by Stephen King : My review of the entire trilogy that ends with the latest novel, End of Watch.

Now onto the rest!

Revolver by Marcus Sedgwick (My Rating: 3/5) This was my one read in April. And it wasn’t that good. Probably why I ended up in a slump that I struggled to get out of. It was a historical YA novel that was short and quick, but that’s really the only thing that recommends it. Otherwise it had a stereotypical villain, and I couldn’t tell you much more about it than that. That’s its sin: it’s forgettable. Not terrible. Just very average. That’s often worse than a one-star read. At least things you hate leave an impression.

Luckiest Girl Alive by Jessica Knoll (My Rating: 4/5) This book was the new Gone Girl for the time it came out, and it wasn’t bad but it wasn’t Flynn either. It tackles some difficult topics with a grey-area protagonist, so it was page-turning enough. My complaint would be that with what Knoll clearly wanted to accomplish, maybe an unreliable narrator (which is how Ani sometimes seems) wasn’t the right direction. It was bold, but it also left me not knowing how to feel when I finished the book. That I’d enjoyed the novel but it wasn’t perfect is as close as I can come to expressing my feelings on it.

Swan Song by Robert McCammon (My Rating: 5/5) After the release of the new Stephen King shoved me straight out of my slump, I knew what I needed to do next. I needed to slay this beast. I’d been working on it since the very beginning of March, and it needed to be finished. My struggle with large books is one I relish, because I do love big, epic stories. But it is also real, as they say. The commitment it takes to finish something of this size and scope… I find myself putting it down, even when I’m loving it, in favor of shorter books simply because I want to feel like I’m accomplishing something and not just chipping away at this too-massive rock.

With that out of the way, I loved this. It was as epic as you’d want it to be. It owes a lot to The Stand, but as far as pacing, I’d call this a better book. It had a great, diverse cast of characters, and you’ll find yourself loving every, single one. Lots of harrowing action to keep you moving forward. A touch of magic that nudges it into fantasy in a very comfortable way. It’s a new favorite, which is the highest recommendation I can give.

Hidden Bodies by Caroline Kepnes (My Rating: 4/5) I read You (still one of the weirdest sentences you can say) when it first came out and fell in love with its pitch black comedy and villain protagonist. When a sequel was announced, I couldn’t wait, but I’m just now getting to it. I’ll say this book starts off the same as You, but then it veers. Necessarily. Because a rehash of the previous story would’ve accomplished nothing, but this takes us and Joe into whole new territory. Well, California, but not just that. He faces entirely new challenges, and just like before, your opinion of him and his actions is going to feel complicated and slippery. Just like I like it. Also, Kepnes takes this story places that are simply wild and insane, so if you like your books unpredictable, there’s that to recommend it, as well.

That’s my wrap-up. It felt good to catch up. If you want to support my blog, check out my Redbubble shop. And as always, happy geeking!

Leave a Reply

