The X-Files Season 10 Review

xfreview

I’m taking on quite a vast subject talking about season 10 of The X-Files. There’s so much to say about it, so much that ties into the old series and looks to the future. The easiest place to start is to say it had its ups and downs. Chris Carter struck gold with The X-Files, and he’s been trying to do it again ever since. Does he still have what it takes to run a show like this? Yes and no. Running the show, he surely does. Writing the scripts, I’m not convinced.

The show’s premiere was crammed with info, moved at too quick a pace, and felt a bit weak. But by the time we get to the show’s finale, it does pay off. Does that make a weak beginning worth it? I can’t answer that, but I will say by the time it was done, I wanted more. Of course, Carter is the king of the cliffhanger, so that’s part of why anyone would feel that way. We simply can’t leave it there. He does a lot with the less-than-two-hours TV that is “My Struggle” parts one and two, but I look forward to a smoother ride later on.

Admittedly, he had a lot of ground to cover, a lot of simplifying to do, and unlike other fans, that definitely didn’t bother me. I was glad to be relieved of most of the mythology so that I could enjoy the show with a clear head. Could the transition have been better handled? Sure. I do agree with that sentiment.

Now what about the in between? The episodes handled by old mainstays (James Wong, Darin Morgan, and Glen Morgan) were certainly the strongest. That felt like classic X-Files with updated characters with a vast history, and it played so well. In a way, that premiere episode was the show trying to get its sea legs. The rest was it hitting its stride. That’s the shame in only have six episodes in all. By the time it does that, we’re winding down again.

Of all the episodes, “Babylon” is probably the weakest. Talk about not knowing what type of story you want. A gag-filled episode about terrorism? That was a misstep. It had its moments, but it was all over the place tonally. Even saying that, I probably enjoyed it more than “My Struggle I”. Because it didn’t feel as shaky overall, but it’s not an episode I could see myself rewatching.

I imagine people want to know what I thought of Monica Reyes’s return, and I can do that while sparing you spoilers entirely. I never was on board with Doggett and Reyes. I know both of them, especially her, have a loyal following, but that’s where the show’s later seasons lost me. Many fans felt betrayed by how Carter handled her here, but my reaction was pretty neutral. I’m more concerned with Einstein and Miller. Why do we have thinly veiled Mulder and Scully clones just hanging around? I don’t want yet another set of replacements, Carter.

This season overall was a success. Even the weak moments can’t hurt it, because what we’re really here for is clear. To see Mulder and Scully reunite with all their personal history and attempt to save the world. To watch their personal journeys blossom even further, and that emotional impact was there for anyone who is a fan. We’re reminded that these two people have a child together, that their impact on this conspiracy always has been and always will be substantial, and that their friendship, through breakups and whatever else they endure, is very strong. As the center of the story, they bring everything you need to enjoy this show all over again.

 

Leave a Reply

